Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021-22: Where to watch And Schedule

The finalised dates have been announced! ICC has come out with the final schedule of the Women's World Cup 2022. The event is to be held from March 4 to April 3, 2022, in New Zealand. There will be 31 matches played across 6 cities Tauranga, Christchurch, Auckland, Wellington, Hamilton, and Dunedin.

In this blog, we have provided all the information related to the Women's Cricket World Cup 2021-22, including the overview of the tournament, schedule, and where to watch.

An Overview & Previous Results

The women’s world cup is one of the oldest world championships organized by ICC. The first-ever tournament was played in England on 28-31 December 1973. Australia has won 6 titles which is the highest among all teams and England has won 4 titles, including the last world cup in 2017. West Indies and New Zealand have won the title once, and India has been ​​Women's Cricket World Cup winners 2 times.

To date, 11 world cup tournaments have been played in 5 countries. India and England have hosted the world cup 3 times each.

The 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup, the twelfth edition of the Women's Cricket World Cup, will be contested in New Zealand in March and April 2022. It was supposed to take place from February 6 to March 7, 2021, however, it was postponed by one year because of the COVID-19 epidemic. The ICC confirmed on December 15, 2020, that the event will be held from March 4 to April 3, 2022.

As hosts, New Zealand was automatically qualified. Earlier only three additional teams would qualify from the 2017–20 ICC Women's Championship, however, this was amended to four teams plus the hosts in 2018.

The top three teams from a ten-team qualification will also compete in this Women's World Cup. However, the ICC stated on May 12, 2020, that the qualifying event had been postponed owing to the COVID-19 epidemic. The ICC confirmed in August 2020 that the qualifying event will take place in 2021.

The prize money for the women's T20 world cup 2022 has been considerably raised. The champions will earn $1 million, while the runners-up will receive $500,000, which is five times the amount awarded in 2018.

The prize money for the Women's Cricket World Cup 2021 has also been upped to $3 million. Previously, England (World Cup champions in 2017) earned $2 million. This also implies that the participating teams will be compensated extra for their time and work.

Women’s World Cup 2021-22 Teams

Qualification is done through ICC women’s championship and World cup Qualifier. Currently, there are five teams playing the tournament:

  • New Zealand - Hosts
  • India – Women’s Championship
  • South Africa -Women’s Championship
  • Australia – Women’s Championship
  • England – Women’s Championship

Three teams will be decided through the world cup qualifier, which will be played in Zimbabwe starting August 2021.

Women’s World Cup Fixtures For 2021-22

The women’s world cup was initially scheduled in Sri Lanka from 3rd to 19th July 2020. Due to covid-19 hitting the world, the International Cricket Council (ICC) postponed the schedule. After reviewing the tournament, it was decided that the Qualifiers would be played in June – July 2021, but in April 2021, it further got postponed.

The qualifiers are going to be hosted by Zimbabwe. The Women’s World Cup will start on 4th March 2022 till 3rd April 2022. Mentioned below is the Women's Cricket World Cup schedule:

Location: Bay Oval, Tauranga

Date Match
Fri 04 Mar 2022 New Zealand v Qualifier*
Sun 06 Mar 2022 Qualifier v India*
Tue 08 Mar 2022 Australia v Qualifier*
Fri 11 Mar 2022 Qualifier v South Africa*
Mon 14 Mar 2022 South Africa v England*
Wed 16 Mar 2022 England v India*
Fri 18 Mar 2022 Qualifier v Qualifier

Location: University Oval, Dunedin

Date Match
Sat 05 Mar 2022 Qualifier v South Africa
Mon 07 Mar 2022 New Zealand v Qualifier
Wed 09 Mar 2022 Qualifier v England

Location: Seddon Park, Hamilton

Date Match
Sat 05 Mar 2022 Australia v England*
Thu 10 Mar 2022 New Zealand v India*
Sat 12 Mar 2022 Qualifier v India*
Mon 14 Mar 2022 Qualifier v Qualifier
Thu 17 Mar 2022 New Zealand v South Africa*
Mon 21 Mar 2022 Qualifier v Qualifier*
Tue 22 Mar 2022 India v Qualifier*

Location: Basin Reserve, Wellington

Date Match
Sun 13 Mar 2022 New Zealand v Australia
Tue 15 Mar 2022 Australia v Qualifier
Tue 22 Mar 2022 South Africa v Australia
Thu 24 Mar 2022 South Africa v Qualifier
Fri 25 Mar 2022 Qualifier v Australia
Sun 27 Mar 2022 England v Qualifier
Wed 30 Mar 2022 Semi-Final 1

Location: Eden Park, Auckland

Date Match
Sat 19 Mar 2022 India v Australia*
Sun 20 Mar 2022 New Zealand v England

Location: Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Date Match
Thu 24 Mar 2022 England v Qualifier*
Sat 26 Mar 2022 New Zealand v Qualifier
Sun 27 Mar 2022 India v South Africa*
Thu 31 Mar 2022 Semi-Final 2*
Sun 03 Apr 2022 FINAL*

How To Watch the Women's World Cup Live in India?

Star Sports is ICC’s Global Broadcast Partner, and they will bring live coverage to their fans. The Star Sports Network channels are the broadcast partner for India and Indian Subcontinent - Star Sports 1 and Star Sports Select/HD are available in Tata Sky, Dish TV, D2h, and Airtel Digital TV.

Videocon D2h:

  • Channel 923 (HD)
  • Channel 401 (SD)

Tata Sky:

  • Channel 454 (HD) &
  • Channel 455 (SD)

Airtel Digital TV:

  • Channel 278 (HD) &
  • Channel 277 (SD)


  • Channel 602 (HD) &
  • Channel 603 (SD)

Sun Direct:

  • Channel 972 (HD) &
  • Channel 500 (SD)

You can also watch the Women's Cricket World Cup through live streaming on ICC’s official partner, Disney+ Hotstar. You can watch the tournament with the Super plan that costs INR 899 per year.


Now that you know where, how, and when to watch the Women’s World Cup 2021-22, don’t forget to tune in and support Team India when the matches start! Till then, for more updates about various international sports, keep reading Selectra.

Updated on