Spanish LaLiga 2021-22: Teams, Schedule And Where To Watch In India

The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División is popular as Primera División in Spain and La Liga in English-speaking nations.It was, for sponsorship reasons, abbreviated as LaLiga. This is the Spanish football competition system's highest professional football level.

The NFL is led by the 20 clubs, which at the end of each season relegates the three lower teams to the second division, replacing the top two teams as well as the play-off winner in the second division. The teams are represented by the National Football Professional League.

LaLiga, Spain's main football league, will enter its 91st season in 2021–22. It will commence on August 13, 2021, and end on May 22, 2022.

With a total attendance of 26,933 for competitive matches in the 2018–19 season, LaLiga is among the most renowned professional football leagues around the world.

This would be the world's eighth-highest national professional sports league as well as the third-highest professional association football club. In fact, this tournament is even higher up than Serie A and Ligue 1, and is behind only the Bundesliga and the Premier League.

Just after the NFL, MLB, NBA, Premier League, and NHL, LaLiga is the world's sixth-richest professional sports league in terms of income.

In this blog, we’ll provide all the relevant information you need to keep yourself updated about the upcoming LaLiga matches.

LaLiga 2021-22 Teams

The league has twenty clubs, involving seventeen from the 2020–21 season and three relegated from the Segunda División for the 2020–21 season. This group contains the top two clubs from the Segunda División and the promotional playoff qualifiers.

Teams Relegated to Segunda División

After just a 1–4 loss against Valencia on May 16, 2021, Eibar was the first club to be relegated from La Liga, concluding their seven-year tenure in the top flight. Valladolid was really the second team to be relegated, after a 1–2 home loss to Atlético Madrid on May 22, 2021, concluding their three-year run in the top flight in their final match.

Huesca, the third and last team to be relegated, suffered an instant return to the second level after tying 0–0 against Valencia in their final match on May 22, 2021.

Teams Promoted from Segunda División

After a 0–0 draw against Zaragoza on May 8, 2021, Espanyol has become the first team to technically be promoted to the top division. After Almera's 2–3 loss to Cartagena on May 18, 2021, Mallorca became the second team to be promoted.

Following a season apart, both teams returned to the first level. Rayo Vallecano was promoted as the third and final squad after winning the play-off finals 3–2 against Girona on June 20, 2021, after just a two-year hiatus. Check out the LaLiga table below:

Team Location
Alavés Vitoria-Gasteiz
Athletic Bilbao Bilbao
Atlético Madrid Madrid
Barcelona Barcelona
Cádiz Cádiz
Celta Vigo Vigo
Elche Elche
Espanyol Barcelona
Getafe Getafe
Granada Granada
Levante Valencia
Mallorca Palma
Osasuna Pamplona
Rayo Vallecano Madrid
Real Betis Seville
Real Madrid Madrid
Real Sociedad San Sebastián
Sevilla Seville
Valencia Valencia
Villarreal Villarreal

LaLiga 2021-22 Fixtures

The table below contains the complete list of LaLiga fixtures for the years 2021-22.

The schedules and/or dates are likely to change if required.

Matchday Date Fixture
1 Aug 15 Barcelona vs Real Sociedad
2 Aug 22 Athletic Club vs Barcelona
3 Aug 29 Barcelona vs Getafe
4 Sep 12 Sevilla vs Barcelona
5 Sep 19 Barcelona vs Granada
6 Sep 22 Cadiz vs Barcelona
7 Sep 26 Barcelona vs Levante
8 Oct 3 Atletico Madrid vs Barcelona
9 Oct 17 Barcelona vs Valencia
10 Oct 24 Barcelona vs Real Madrid
11 Oct 27 Rayo Vallecano vs Barcelona
12 Oct 31 Barcelona vs Alaves
13 Nov 7 Celta Vigo vs Barcelona
14 Nov 21 Barcelona vs Espanyol
15 Nov 28 Villarreal vs Barcelona
16 Dec 5 Barcelona vs Real Betis
17 Dec 12 Osasuna vs Barcelona
18 Dec 19 Barcelona vs Elche
19 Jan 2 Mallorca vs Barcelona
20 Jan 9 Granada vs Barcelona
21 Jan 19 Barcelona vs Rayo Vallecano
22 Jan 23 Alaves vs Barcelona
23 Feb 6 Barcelona vs Atletico Madrid
24 Feb 13 Espanyol vs Barcelona
25 Feb 20 Valencia vs Barcelona
26 Feb 27 Barcelona vs Athletic Club
27 Mar 6 Elche vs Barcelona
28 Mar 13 Barcelona vs Osasuna
29 Mar 20 Real Madrid vs Barcelona
30 Apr 3 Barcelona vs Sevilla
31 Apr 10 Levante vs Barcelona
32 Apr 17 Barcelona vs Cadiz
33 Apr 20 Real Sociedad vs Barcelona
34 May 1 Barcelona vs Mallorca
35 May 8 Real Betis vs Barcelona
36 May 11 Barcelona vs Celta Vigo
37 May 15 Getafe vs Barcelona
38 May 22 Barcelona vs Villarreal

An Overview of LaLiga Clubs in Europe

The Primera División is presently ranked first in the UEFA standings of European leagues depending on their success in European tournaments during a five-year span, ahead of England's Premier League, Germany's Bundesliga, as well as Italy's Serie A, which are tied for fourth.

In terms of overall European championships, Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Valencia have been among the top 10 most popular teams in European football. Alongside Sevilla plus Atlético Madrid, these 3 teams are five among the most popular players in European competition existence; these five have been the only Spanish teams to have achieved five or even more international titles.

Deportivo La Coruna and Sevilla are the equal fifth-most active Spanish teams in the Champions League, following Real Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia, and Atlético Madrid, with five consecutive participations, which included a semifinal participation in 2003–04.

Barcelona won the Champions League while Sevilla won the UEFA Cup in 2005–06, enabling La Liga the very first league in Europe to accomplish the "double" until 1997. This accomplishment was duplicated in 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2018.

La Liga has become the first league to promote five teams for the UEFA Champions League group round on August 25, 2015 (Atlético Madrid, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Sevilla, as well as Valencia).

How To Watch LaLiga Live In India

Viacom18 has partnered with LaLiga to broadcast the matches in the Indian subcontinent over the next 3 years.

LaLiga, which is authorized and sponsored by Rise Worldwide, will broadcast primarily on MTV, Viacom 18s youth-centric channel, in India, as well as certain regional and national network stations.

If you’re a DTH provider, you can watch LaLiga live on the following channel:

The three-year exclusive deal will grant the network terrestrial and digital rights all across Indian subcontinent, as per a press statement. In other words, Viacom18 will use its TV, internet, and social assets in the area.

You can also stream and follow the LaLiga live score on Vaicom18’s official streaming platform Voot. However, to watch the matches live, you’ll have to buy a subscription at INR 499 yearly or INR 99 monthly.


One of the top-ranking football leagues in the world is right around the corner and fans all over the country are getting ready to support their favourite team. So, are you ready to stream some of the world’s best football matches live?

Updated on