Kolkata Knight Riders: Team, Players, Price, Matches & More

Updated on
min reading
kolkata knight riders logo on tv

Kolkata Knight Riders has been an old player in the Indian Premier League. This team, owned by Indian actors Shah Rukh Khan and Juhi Chawla, along with the latter's husband Jay Mehta, has won the IPL title twice so far. Founded in 2008, the Kolkata Knight Riders have posed tough competition to other leading teams in IPL. To find out about their developments, changes, and other details in IPL 2024, continue reading!

Kolkata Knight Riders Scorecard: IPL 2024

The Kolkata Knight Riders' scorecard for this IPL tournament 2024 is mentioned here for all fans to take a look and follow the stats of their favourite team! For more regular updates, stay tuned!

Kolkata Knight Riders Scorecard
MatchesWonLostTiedNRPointsNRRSeries Form
  • Won against SRH by 4 runs
  • Won against RCB by 7 wickets
  • Won against DC by 106 runs
  • Lost against CSK by 7 wickets
  • Won against RCB by 1 runs
  • Lost against RR by 2 wickets
  • Won against LSG by 8 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders History & Inception

When the cricket tournament Indian Premier League was first created by the BCCI, Kolkata Knight Riders was one of the original eight teams who participated. After being put up for auction, they were eventually bought by SRK's company Red Chillies Entertainment, along with the actress Juhi Chawla and her husband, Jay Mehta. The icon Sourav Ganguly was the captain initially, with Shreyas Iyer in his place now. Being a capable team, KKR has bagged the IPL title twice.

Kolkata Knight Riders Overview 2024

Kolkata Knight Riders: Overview
T20 LeagueIndian Premier League
CaptainShreyas Iyer
CoachChandrakant Pandit
Team budgetRs. 100 crores
Budget for auctionRs. 32.7 crores
Kolkata Knight Riders OwnerRed Chillies Entertainment (Shah Rukh Khan), Juhi Chawla, and Jay Mehta
Principal PartnerBKT
Associate SponsorsLux Cozi, Joy, Money 9, Jio, Acko, Royal Green, SRMB
Official PartnersBoat, Thumbs Up, mio amore, HRX, Bira, Amul Organic
Licensing PartnersThe Souled Store, LIT-AF.IN, EUME, Fancode Shop
Media PartnersFever FM, 94.3 Radio One, The Telegraph, Sampark
Health PartnersWoodlands Hospital
Home groundEdens Garden, Kolkata
Indian Premier League wins2 (2012, 2014)
Playoffs2011, 2016, 2017, 2018
Official websitekkr.in

Kolkata Knight Riders First Match In IPL 2024

Catch Kolkata Knight Riders' First Match against Sunrisers Hyderabad on March 23, at 7:30 pm in Kolkata. Watch the match on Star Sports Network or Disney + Hotstar! For more sports updates, keep reading Selectra!

Kolkata Knight Riders Players 2024

This IPL auction saw KKR making a controversial purchase. Kolkata Knight Riders got Mitchell Star for Rs. 24.75 crores, one of the highest prices out there. They got involved around the Rs. 8 crore mark and then seemed adamant about having him on the team. Additionally, here are the other players that were bought this time:

Kolkata Knight Riders Players Bought in Auction 2024
KKR PlayersRoleAuction Price
KS Bharat Batsman₹50 lakhs
Chethan Sakariya Bowler₹50 lakhs
Mitchell Starc Bowler₹24.75 crores
Angkrish Raghuvanshi Batsman₹20 lakhs
Ramandeep Singh All-rounder₹20 lakhs
Sherfane RutherfordBatsman₹1.5 crores
Manish Pandey Batsman₹50 lakhs
Mujeeb Rahman Bowler₹2 crores
Gus Atkinson Bowler₹1 crores
Sakib Hussain Bowler₹20 lakhs
Nitish RanaBatsman₹8 crores
Rinku SinghBatsman₹55 lakhs
Rahmanullah GurbazBatsman₹50 lakhs
Shreyas Iyer (Captain)Batsman₹12.25 crores
Jason RoyBowler₹2.8 crores
Sunil NarineBowler₹6 crores
Suyash SharmaBowler₹20 lakhs
Anukul RoyAll-rounder₹20 lakhs
Andre RussellAll-rounder₹12 crores
Venkatesh IyerAll-rounder₹8 crores
Harshit RanaBowler₹20 lakhs
Vaibhav AroraBowler₹60 lakhs
Varun ChakaravarthyBowler₹8 crores
Phil SaltBatsman₹1.5 crores


KKR has a creative, motivating, theme song specifically for IPL called 'Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo'! The song features Bollywood Star Shah Rukh Khan, as well. Catch the song on YouTube here.

Kolkata Knight Riders Jersey

Kolkata Knight Riders' jersey matches their team colours and provides a vibrant look. It is purple coloured in the top half with delicate lines of yellow, and patterned yellow colour at the bottom with some designs of purple.

kkr jersey

Kolkata Knight Riders Captain: Shreyas Iyer

A right-hand batter of extreme skill and finesse, Shreyas Iyer is an international cricketer who is expected to continue his role as the KKR captain this tournament as well. Initially a part of the Delhi Daredevils, Shreyas Iyer was bought by KKR only recently in 2022. One of the best players of the Indian Premier League, Iyer's performance in this year's tournament and his able captaincy are much awaited to be seen!

Kolkata Knight Riders Coach: Chandrakant Pandit

Chandrakant Pandit is one of the legendary cricket players of India who was active from 1986 through 1992, for 5 test matches and 36 one-day internationals. He was a wicket-keeper batsman, who eventually took the job of a cricket coach after retirement. After having mentored the Vidarbha cricket team for two Ranji Trophy triumphs and then the MP team, Pandit is now the head coach for Kolkata Knight Riders IPL.

Here are the details of other coaches of Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR Coaches
Head CoachChandrakant Pandit
Assistant CoachAbhishek Nayar, James Foster
MentorGautam Gambhir
Bowling coachBharat Arun
Assistant bowling coachOmkar Salvi
Fielding coachRyan ten Doeschate
Strength and conditioning coachChris Donaldson

Kolkata Knight Riders Team: List Of Players Retained & Released

Here are the players released by KKR in the 2024 IPL season:

  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Litton Das
  • Aarya Desai
  • David Wiese
  • Narayan Jagadeesan
  • Mandeep Singh
  • Kulwant Khejroliya
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Tim Southee
  • Johnson Charles

Here are the players retained by KKR in the 2024 IPL season:

  1. Nitish Rana
  2. Rinku Singh
  3. Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  4. Shreyas Iyer
  5. Jason Roy
  6. Sunil Narine
  7. Suyash Sharma
  8. Anukul Roy
  9. Andre Russell
  10. Venkatesh Iyer
  11. Harshit Rana
  12. Vaibhav Arora
  13. Varun Chakaravarthy

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) IPL 2024 Match List

Find the match info and detailed IPL schedule of Kolkata Knight Riders in the table below!

Kolkata Knight Riders: Match Details
KKR match againstDate & TimeVenue
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight RidersMarch 23, 7:30 pmKolkata
Royal Challengers BangaloreMarch 29, 7:30 pmBangalore
Delhi CapitalsApril 3, 7:30 pmVizag

Kolkata Knight Riders: Frequently Asked Questions

Why is Jason Roy no longer in IPL 2024?

England batter Jason Roy has pulled himself out of the cricket tournament IPL 2024 citing personal reasons. Although initially a part of the team, he will no longer be playing in this year's IPL. Phil Salt has replaced him for this tournament.

What is the KKR mascot?

KAY is the Kolkata Knight Riders mascot, introduced in 2023. This mascot ensures to cheer the team and keep the enthusiasm high!

Who is KKR's first captain?

Sourav Ganguly is KKR's first captain back when the team was found for the first time.

Read more about Cricket: