IPL 2021: Schedule, Points Table & Where To Watch In India


The Board of Cricket Control of India (BCCI) confirmed that the second phase of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2021 will be played in the United Arab Emirates. While it hasn’t been officially announced yet, the matches will most likely begin from September 17 onwards with the finals taking place on October 10th.

Another factor that the board is dealing with, is the availability of international players. Bangladesh, England, and New Zealand would be busy playing international series as well as warm-up matches for the ICC T20 World Cup throughout the September-October period, so player availability and mobility will be an issue.

Whilst the Australian team is still yet to confirm the players' accessibility, the majority of the players, namely Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, as well as David Warner, are expected to be on rest, keeping them out of IPL 2021 Round 2. Moreover, with the Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2021) scheduled to conclude on September 19, at least nine West Indian players may be absent during the first week, making the IPL team list dicey.

The BCCI will have to straighten things out while also persuading the ECB to start releasing a few players who may not be selected for the next trip to Bangladesh.

The IPL finals have been played 12 times to date and the Delhi Daredevils is the only team to have never been part of a single final match.

IPL 2021 New Schedule

Due to the Caribbean Premier League, the BCCI has not released the IPL New Schedule 2021 as of now. The majority of the players that play in IPL squads simultaneously play in CPL. As a result, there has been a delay in creating the IPL 2021 schedule.

But even though the BCCI, amid pressure, set the IPL 2021 reschedule date of September 17, which players would play the matches is yet unknown. The IPL New Schedule 2021 has been eagerly anticipated by fans and has finally been released. Please find the schedule below:

Match No Match Date Time
30 Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings 19 September, Sunday 7:30PM
31 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 20 September, Monday 7:30PM
32 Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals 21 September, Tuesday 7:30PM
33 Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 22 September, Wednesday 7:30PM
34 Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders 23 September, Thursday 7:30PM
35 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings 24 September, Friday 7:30PM
36 Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals 25 September, Saturday 3:30PM
37 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings 25 September, Saturday 7:30PM
38 Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders 26 September, Sunday 3:30PM
39 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians 26 September, Sunday 7:30PM
40 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals 27 September, Monday 7:30PM
41 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals 28 September, Tuesday 3:30PM
42 Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings 28 September, Tuesday 7:30PM
43 Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 29 September, Wednesday 7:30PM
44 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings 30 September, Thursday 7:30PM
45 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings 1 October, Friday 7:30PM
46 Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals 2 October, Saturday 3:30PM
47 Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings 2 October, Saturday 7:30PM
48 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings 3 October, Sunday 3:30PM
49 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 3 October, Sunday 7:30PM
50 Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings 4 October, Monday 7:30PM
51 Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians 5 October, Tuesday 7:30PM
52 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 6 October, Wednesday 7:30PM
53 Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings 7 October, Thursday 3:30PM
54 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals 7 October, Thursday 7:30PM
55 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians 8 October, Friday 3:30PM
56 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals 8 October, Friday 7:30PM
57 Qualifier 1 10 October, Sunday 7:30PM
58 Eliminator 11 October, Monday 7:30PM
59 Qualifier 2 13 October, Wednesday 7:30PM
60 Final 15 October, Friday 7:30PM

IPL 2021 New Venue

The increasing number of COVID cases in India and the expected rainy season are the major reasons why the remaining IPL 2021 matches won’t be played in India.

The remaining 31 fixtures will now be hosted in Dubai, as per the updated IPL 2021 list. While the specifics of the IPL 2021 grounds and locations are yet to be officially released, the rescheduled matches will be played in the UAE, most likely in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah.

IPL 2021 Points Table

Based on the 58 matches played in the IPL 2021 league so far, we’ve created a points table that is presented in a top-to-bottom order below.

Team Matches Win Loss Points NRR WS
Delhi Capitals 8 6 2 12 0.55 W L W W W L W W
Chennai Super Kings 7 5 2 10 1.26 L W W W W W L
Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 5 2 10 -0.17 W W W W L W L
Mumbai Indians 7 4 3 8 0.06 L W W L L W W
Rajasthan Royals 7 3 4 6 -0.19 L W L L W L W
Punjab Kings 8 3 5 6 -0.37 W L L L W L W L
Kolkata Knight Riders 7 2 5 4 -0.49 W L L L L W L
Sunrisers Hyderabad 7 1 6 2 -0.62 L L L W L L L

IPL 2021 Matches and Timings

Previously, the IPL 2021 had been played at two different times. The first is in the afternoon at around 3:30 PM and the other is in the evenings at 7:00 PM.

While this will most likely continue for the new schedule as well, the official date timings for the matches have not been announced yet.

How To Watch IPL 2021 Live In India

The BCCI, which is the Board of Control for Cricket in India has given exclusive streaming rights for the IPL 2021 live in India to Disney plus Hotstar. To obtain live stream access to the upcoming IPL season, you may choose between Disney+ Hotstar VIP at Rs. 399/year or get a Premium subscription at Rs. 1,499 per year (Rs. 299 per month).

Of course, the latter comes with a slew of extra features over the former to compensate for the increased membership price. Credit cardholders may get the Disney+ Hotstar VIP subscription at an even lower price of Rs. 365.

Telecom carriers such as Airtel, Vi (Vodafone Idea), and Jio also provide different prepaid recharge packages with a free yearly membership to the Disney+ Hotstar VIP service in order to provide you with coverage to IPL 2021.

Furthermore, IPL 2021 matches will be telecasted live on TV in the nation via Star India's sports channel, Star Sports 1. If you own a DTH connection, check out the channel list below to find out on which channel you can watch the IPL matches live:

Harbhajan Singh has played in 160 matches and bowled 1,249 dot balls. With 1,155 dot balls, Lasith Malinga comes in second.


While there is not much official information regarding the matches, the latest IPL news indicates that the IPL 2021 is definitely going to commence in September, which is great for cricket fans. However, with a plethora of challenges ahead of them, it might be difficult for the BCCI to get the top players to compete in these matches.

Updated on